Annual Meeting January 20, 2017

2017 Restoration Award Recipients

2017 Restoration Award Recipients

Friday January 20, 2017


Riverside Library Great Room





The Frederick Law Olmsted Society voted in a new board for 2017 at their Annual Meeting. Serving as President Rob Dixon; Vice President Abby Randall; Secretary Janice O’Flaherty; and Treasurer Thomas Guardi. Joining as a new member to the Board is John Farneda. Renewing for another three years are Maura Braun, Constance and Thomas Guardi, Lois Kimmelman, Cathy and Mike Maloney, Tim Ozga and Aberdeen Marsh Ozga, and Abby and Greg Randall

President Rob Dixon presented the Olmsted Spirit Awards to Holly Machina and Cindy Kellogg for their years of service and dedication as Chairs of the Landscape Workday Committee.

This year’s Restoration Award recipients are John Farneda and Stephanus Greef. Vice President Abby Randall and Sander Kaplan presented both with plaques as recognition of their efforts in the restoration of the South Wing of the Avery Cooley House.

Presenter Cathy Maloney followed the annual Frederick Law Olmsted meeting with a lecture about Swan Pond and the Arboretum. Maloney is a garden historian, chairperson of Riverside’s Landscape Advisory Commission, and a FLOS Board member.

The entire presentation can be viewed on YouTube: CLICK TO WATCH Cathy Maloney

Beloved by Riverside residents are the landscapes surrounding Guthrie Park and Swan Pond. Recently certified as an Arboretum, Guthrie Park is the centerpiece of the Village-wide collection of trees and shrubs. What does it mean to be an Arboretum, and why is it important to each and every Riverside resident? Nearby, framed by Guthrie Park’s trees, Swan Pond is undergoing changes thanks to the adjacent Des Plaines River.

2017 Board Election:

President: Robert Dixon
Vice-President: Abigail Randall
Treasurer: Thomas Guardi
Secretary: Janice O’Flaherty

Renewal with a three year term Board Members:
Maura Braun
Constance and Thomas Guardi
Lois Kimmelman
Cathy Maloney
Aberdeen Marsh-Ozga and Timothy Ozga
Abigail and Gregory Randall

New Board members:
John Farneda

The Nomination Committee included Kimberly Dixon,
Constance Guardi, Chair, Jacqueline Miller, Janice O’Flaherty and
Jennifer Pacorek.